Interweave Knits and knitscene Fall 2009

Yay, I can share some secret knitting!

First up, the Felicity Hat from Fall Interweave Knits. I love love love this hat.  Even Derrick said “That’s a nice design!”.  The yarn, Berrocco Ultra Alpaca Light, is warm and beautiful; the heathery colors were perfect for this project.

I snapped a few photos before sending the hat away for the photoshoot.

The best thing about this hat is that it was a fun challenge to design.  It’s knit flat; the rows go from the brim to the crown and the hat is shaped into wedges using short rows.  I like the crisp look of the 1×1 rib which was picked up after the hat was sewn together (I grafted the live stitches to the cast-on stitches for a virtually invisible seam).  I don’t often think that I look good in hats but I think this one is super flattering and I would love to knit another just for me!

The colors and stripes remins me of the snow/skateboarder’s sweaters from the late 90’s; the ones with the stripes down the sleeves and across the chest.  So I named it “Felicity” for the TV show that just screams late 90’s.

Next, the Maximum Stripe Pullover from the Fall issue of knitscene!

I loved knitting this stitch pattern; it’s a modified sailor rib worked mostly in the round. The result is a cushy and stretchy sweater that is easy to knit and cute to wear!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. connie
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 22:17:07

    Cute knits – both of them. You’ve been busy! :)

  2. Gudrun
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 09:23:07

    Great designs Kate…you look super cute in the hat!

  3. Tanya
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 18:02:18

    I love this hat, the colors and design. The sweater looks cute and comfy.

  4. Brooke
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 21:31:58

    Just got the Knits issue and am excited to knit your hat! -Brooke in Golden

  5. Amanda
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 15:52:16

    I just saw the preview of Knits Weekend. It’s great to see you and Dax on the cover! You guys look great;-) It looks like he had a lot of fun at the photoshoot when I looked at the bonus photos. Hope you guys are doing well.

Leave a Reply

