Out of the loop

Someone really likes to swing!

Someone really likes to swing!

My lack of posting here reflects my recent inability to keep up with what’s happening in the knitting world-online, in print, everywhere.  I feel such a disconnect due to the fact that I’ve been finishing up a deluge of contract knitting; I haven’t even been able to take the time to get inspired and submit new ideas.  Finding balance between motherhood and being me is continuing to be a challenge and though I have a feeling that will always be the case, I also think we will be able to find something that works for us.  We’re just not quite there yet.

So what’s been happening?  What have I missed?  Have you seen anything awesome recently? I would love to hear about it; link it or mention it in the comments and I’d really appreciate it!

To fall back in love with knitting, I think a personal and seasonal project is in order, and most importantly a pre-written pattern! I’m thinking a cute, flowy, summery tank or tunic.  I’ll have to poke around the stash tonight and see what I can come up with; I know I have some linen, hempathy, bamboo, and even soy up there…hmmmm.  I’m excited by the possibilities!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 11:58:59

    I know what you mean about motherhood and sort of losing yourself a little at times. It’s been forever since I’ve had a chance to spin or knit. It gets better though. With baby #1, I found I did reach a stage where I had some freedom. Now, we just have to get to that same place with baby #2;-) It’s rare I have a moment to really sit down and miss the things I used to enjoy. Being a parent can keep you so busy at times that you forget what you did before you were one. And then there are the new joys to distract, too.

    I am excited to hear that you’re at least getting some contract knitting done. Your designs? I’m collecting up good patterns for the day when I actually have time to knit them;-) Luckily I can manage to check in on Ravelry and add stuff to my favs so that I won’t lose track of the goodies.

  2. katinka31
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 14:49:16

    Have you seen Buttercup? It’s a super-cute pattern, and free.

    Finding that balance does get somewhat easier with time, I think. Hang in there. :)

  3. Connie
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 06:27:52

    I don’t have any suggestions, but I know what you mean about getting a bit burned out with knitting. I always seem to manage to find something that gets my juices going again. I know this wasn’t what you had in mind, but have you seen Kristen rengren’s new book, Vintage Baby Knits? There are a lot of inspiring and beautiful baby knits in there. Perfect for your little one :)

    Can’t wait to see the reveal of all your contract knitting. I’m always up for a Katie Himmelberg design :)

  4. kat
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 10:48:14

    Hi Katie,
    Yes, yes, it’s hard finding the balance. You little boy is adorable! This week, I’m knitting lace, I just knit a lace cowl. I’ve been reading the Knitkicks blog for runway knits inspiration. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

