TMI (too much inspiration)

I’ve made a little progress on the Monkey socks while Dax has been napping.  This pattern is lots of fun and easy to memorize (as the 8, 338 other folks on Ravelry who have made it can surely attest!). 

Last week, I picked up two new magazines,  Craft Stylish and Debbie Bliss Knitting Magazine Spring/Summer 2009.  I just figured out via Ravelry that the Debbie Bliss one is actually (some? or all?) reprinted patterns.  I don’t mind as I don’t have any DB pattern booklets and there are quite a few things I found inspiring.  I love to look at knitting patterns; I usually get lots of new ideas for designs and it just gets me excited about knitting.  First up I’d like to knit this for summer, and I might have enough Euroflax in a nice neutral in my stash to do it:

The neckline seems a little shifty, but any potential wardrobe malfunction could be prevented with a tank top. 

I also liked this cardigan, but realized that it has a hood and drop sleeves, and that I’d really have to redesign it to get what I want.  The mistake rib is really what drew me in, so I might just borrow the stitch pattern and come up with a nice spring cardigan myself. Motherhood has changed some things about my style; I end up wearing cardigans or hooded sweatshirts more often than pullovers (especially convenient for breastfeeding) but have knit mostly pullovers in the past.  I’m also finding that I feel like I can’t wear anything with a lot of fuzz around the baby; it just feels like more potential for dirtying it or something.  Yarn with a smooth, cool hand would be better.  And I miss accessories! Too many things for Dax to grab onto and rip or put in his mouth. 

And the Craft Stylish magazine had a really cute idea for refashioning a big t shirt into a really cute tunic, which got all kinds of sewing fantasies in my head.  (I found the rest of the magazine to be kind of meh; the projects didn’t all seem to be aimed at the same reader; some were very trendy and others a little frumpier.) I have too much fabric (and clothes, really) that I should do  and want to do something with.  Could I really set aside say 2 hours a week to revamp/sew something for myself?  I think I’m going to try to do just that.  After I finish the curtains that have been sitting around since July…….

Leave a Reply

