Learning

I used to think that whole pineapple was way too hard to cut up yourself, so when I wanted fresh pineapple I’d buy it in a tub at the store.  Then one day pineapples were on sale for a buck each at the store, so I brought one home.  And I did the most logical thing that anyone would do–let it sit on the counter almost too long and then make your husband cut it up, duh.  So I was still afraid of trying it myself. 

In the last week or two, I got a little obsessed with a delicious stir-fry recipe involving cashews, quinoa, and pineapple (from Veganomicon, the greatest cookbook I’ve ever had) and there were no tubs of precut goodness at the store so I brought home another whole pineapple and guess what?  It is not hard at all to chop up! I am no longer a slave to the precut pineapple! Aren’t we “afraid” of the dumbest things sometimes?  And then you just try it and wonder what the problem was all along? (See also: short-rows.)

Now I’m out of quinoa and that means I need to make a trip to Whole Foods but that would require a shower and that all sounds like too much for today.  I was telling myself that I could go there as a treat after I finished up my submissions for Twist, but little Dax is taking another long nap and I don’t think we’ll make it. 

I don’t think Dax is feeling well; he grabbed his ear a few times and has been awfully sleepy.  I also just learned that ear infections are typically not treated with any medications? Of course if he is acting sick I will take him to the doctor, but I just assumed that ear infections were treated with antibiotics.  The More You Know!

As I mentioned, I just finished up some submissions for Twist Collective.  I was so nervous working on them!  I really want to get into the Fall issue and swatching didn’t seem to be going too great, but maybe I’m just being to hard on myself.  I had to dump one idea I had because the yarn just wasn’t right, but it was a felted skirt that I definitely want to come back to.  I also need to get Illustrator or something to put together a more polished pdf.  (PDF and chart design is something I know little to nothing about and need to investigate for self-publishing too.)

This weekend I’ve got to finish up the crochet knitscene project, then it’s on to starting a knit knitscene project which should go pretty fast.  Right now, someone is waking from their nap and probably ready to play!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gudrun
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 17:52:22

    Mmmm that recipe sounds delicious….(now squash is something I hate peeling and chopping up)!
    I also submitted to Twist…..fingers crossed for us both!

  2. Connie
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 12:35:07

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting, Katie. And I”m so glad to see you’ve started one. It’s going right into my bloglines so I can keep up.

    Good luck on your Twist submissions. I always love your designs. And I hope Dax feels better soon!

  3. Rebecca
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 10:30:06

    The combo of quinoa, pineapple and cashews sounds really good. They do also sell quinoa at the Country Cupboard, which is less then a hike than Whole Foods, especially if you need it soon for something.

Leave a Reply

