Oh, hai!

What’s that, Widget? You found something interesting to read?

Oh!  That looks familiar!  In fact, you saw me knitting that about a year ago, and now it’s on the back cover of Simple Style! It’s always a thrill to see my work in print and it was a nice surprise to see one of my projects on the back cover, and the other on the table of contents page:

Simple Style is the latest in the “style” series from Interweave Press.  I was so flattered when Ann Budd asked me to submit some ideas for the book; it’s a real treat to work with her and I’m so glad I could be a part of the book.  There are some really cute and innovative yet simple designs from great designers (if I have the time someday, I’d love to knit the Offset Raglan by Veronik Avery and the Guernsey Skirt by Kat Coyle) and I’m sure it’ll be another popular book. 

I also got my hands on this:

And it is so awesome!* I have only recently realized how fun sock knitting can be, and Cookie creates some fab designs.  As I mentioned before, I plan on knitting Monkey when my Scout’s Swag arrives, but I have some ShiBui semi-solid sock in the stash that may be the perfect yarn for these (I love the lace pattern and the unconventional placement):

Sock Innovation is a solid, informative book; I was totally surprised and delighted with the extensive design information in the front of the book.  Cookie covers topics from the basics of heel and toe construction choices to adjusting stitch pattern repeats for designing and customizing your own socks.  I know I’ll be going back to that section for reference and insight when I’m working. 

In other knitting news, I may have accidentally started a teeny tiny new project.  Oops!  I’m knitting Hansigurimi’s  Loch Ness Monster (rav link) for Dax. 

So far the pattern is fun but requires a lot of attention (as I expected).  Hansi Singh’s patterns are so smart!  Yesterday was my birthday and I decided I wasn’t going to do work, so I knit on this guy a little instead.  And I got a massage that I needed badly!  Hopefully I can do that more often.  My shoulders and hips are a mess and  I should also be doing yoga, but it’s hard to fit it in and classes are expensive.  Back to design work today!

*I feel like I just need to say that Interweave didn’t ask me to review or blog about any of this stuff; I do (obviously) have a good relationship with Interweave and do enjoy their publications.  I will talk about any good, interesting, cool stuff no matter the source; it just happened that these things are from Interweave.  (/end disclaimer)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gudrun
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 17:10:18

    Just found your blog and caught up on your recent (or not so recent) changes…congrats on a very cute wee boy….and on a nice new blog…….!

  2. katiehimmelberg
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 18:14:50

    Thanks Gudrun!

Leave a Reply

