Shetland Square

I finished Dax’s blanket! It turned out bigger than I was expecting.

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpacas Organic Cotton

Needles: US 10 1/2 circs

The only bad thing about this project is that the rounds kept getting longer and longer since it was worked from the center out.  That really can put a damper on a project (see also my long-abandoned Icarus Shawl (ravelry link)).  But it was worth it for my little guy.

Still plugging away on the knitscene crochet project and hoping I can work on Chris’s hat this week too.  I’m anxiously awaiting some Scout’s Swag sock yarn in the Kill Bill colorway (my favorite movie(s) ever!) that I ordered for my birthday, so if I can finish the hat, I can get started on socks as soon it arrives. I’m thinking it’ll make a great pair of  Monkeys (Ravelry link).  I’ve knit a few pairs of socks for various members of my fam, but never just for me.

xoxo Katie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emilee
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 20:55:19

    That’s so cute!

  2. Rebecca
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 14:45:54

    I love the blanket….very cute!

  3. katiehimmelberg
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 19:40:29

    Thanks!

  4. Karen
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 13:58:22

    Did you put two shetland triangles together? Very curious minds are interested– especially when they have knit three of these, but not for themselves because they look silly on a young-looking person in said triangular format…. ;)

  5. katiehimmelberg
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 21:37:24

    Yup, that’s it. I have to go back and look at the pattern, but basically, you eliminate all but 1 border stitch (on each side) and go. I am trying to put together a small tutorial since I’ve gotten some quesitons about it on Rav too.

  6. Kelly Klem (Klymyshyn)
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 07:56:41

    This little boy is a livin’ doll! –the blanket is gorgeous and, I promise, it is not too big…just wait a few months and see!

Leave a Reply

