Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start

I’ve written this post in my head dozens of times and it still probably won’t come out quite right.  How do you begin a blog?  You have to start somewhere I suppose.  Some post will, by default, be the very first.  Just like beginning a sweater, it may not seem like much at the start, but with any luck, it has the potential to become a well-worn and comfortable thing. 

This past year brought some big changes to my life.  My husband and I expanded our family with the arrival of our son Dax, and I decided to leave my position at Interweave to stay at home with him.  Now I will be pursuing work as a knitwear designer and hope to share some of my process here along with other knitting I do.  And I’m sure other bits of my life will float in as well; I love to craft and do other… stuff that will potentially be blogworthy!

Let’s start with an FO; my Christmas knitting was surprisingly fruitful this year.  Here’s a pair of plain-old socks I knit for my sister. 

I used one of the Miss Babs yarns in the Cleopatra colorway.  The socks were knit top-down though I usually prefer toe-up.  She loved them!

xoxo Katie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 08:31:42

    Glad to see you started a blog! It’ll be fun to follow;-)

  2. katiehimmelberg
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 08:45:19

    Thanks! :)

  3. opheliaspins
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 10:35:13

    They are lovely! I look forward to seeing you do some blogging.

  4. Rene' Sharp
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 06:31:56

    Good luck with your new blog. I am sure you will have lots of followers!

Leave a Reply

